OMN 2015 Plenary and Invited Speakers

OMN 2015 is pleased to announce the following distinguished Plenary and Invited speakers who will give extended scientific lectures at the conference.

Plenary Speakers

Moti SegevProf. Mordechai (Moti) Segev, Technion, Israel: Complex Optofluidics: Controlling fluids with light and vice-versa.
Prof. Segev is a Distinguished University Professor and the Trudy and Norman Louis Professor of Physics, at the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel. Among his most significant contributions are the discoveries of photorefractive solitons, of random-phase solitons (also called incoherent solitons, or self-trapping of solitons made of incoherent white light from an incandescent bulb), the first observation of 2D lattice solitons, and the first experimental demonstration of Anderson localization in a disordered periodic system, and the demonstrating the first photonic topological insulator. He has received many international awards for his achievements, including 2007 Quantum Electronics Prize of the European Physics Society, the 2009 Max Born Award of the Optical Society of America, the 2014 Arthur L. Schawlow Award of the American Physical Society, and the 2014 Israel Prize in Physics and Chemistry.

David MendlovicProf. David Mendlovic, Tel Aviv University, Israel: Multi-dimensional hyperspectral imaging system 
Prof. Mendlovic has received his B.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Tel Aviv University, Israel. Prof. Mendlovic was associated with Erlangen University as a MINERVA postdoctoral fellow, later joining Tel-Aviv University as a Lecturer in Electrical Engineering, where at present he is a Full Professor of electro-optics. He has authored more than 200 technical articles, 3 book chapters, and is the holder of more than 30 patents all of them have been commercialized. Among his scientific achievements: Fractional Fourier transform; Resolution beyond limits; and advanced imaging systems. He is a founder of successful opto-electronics startup companies (e.g. Civcom and Eyesquad) and served as their CEO. Prof. Mendlovic is the 1998 winner of the ICO (International Commission of Optics) Award, in recognition of his contribution to the optical signal processing area. Since January 2008 till September 2010, Prof. Mendlovic was the Chief Scientist of the Israeli Ministry of Science. At present he serves as the Chairman of the Industrial Affiliates Program and Vice Dean for Research of the Faculty of Engineering. 

Invited Speakers

  • Prof. Charanjit Singh Bhatia, National University of Singapore, Singapore: High density heat-assisted magnetic recording (HAMR) with use of nano-aperture optics
  • Prof. Tal Carmon, Technion, Israel. Liquid-wall devices.
  • Prof. Yeshayahu (Shaya) Fainman, UC San Diego, USA: Nanophotonics: Technology and Applications
  • Prof. Andrea Fiore, TU Eindhoven, Netherlands: Electromechanically tuneable nanophotonic cavities
  • Prof. Davide Ianuzzi, VU Amsterdam, Netherlands: From quantum mechanics to cardiomyocytes: looking back at 10 years of optical fiber-top technology
  • Prof. Jungsang Kim, Duke University, USA: Optical MEMS for Quantum Information Processing with Trapped-Ions
  • Prof. Luke Lee, UC Berkeley, USA: Quantum Bionanophotonics for Life Science and Medicine 
  • Prof. Uriel Levy, Hebrew University, Israel: Light-matter interactions in a hybrid nanophotonic-atomic platform
  • Dr. Daniel Lopez, Argonne National Laboratory, USA: High-index dielectric Huygens metasurface  
  • Prof. Willie Padilla, Duke University, USA: Taming Blackbody Radiation with MEMS Metamaterials
  • Prof. Young-Min Song, Pusan University, S. Korea: Recent advances on optoelectronic devices inspired by the compound eyes
  • Prof. Prabhat Verma, Osaka University, Japan: Nanophotonics with Tip-enhanced Raman Spectroscopy 
  • Prof. Laura Waller, UC Berkeley, USA: Large scale phase retrieval for 3D and metrology